Complete List of Databases (A-Z)
Below are “databases” that our library subscribes to. They contain loads of information not necessarily found through the Internet. You’ll need your library card to log into most of these databases.
A to Z Food America– From regional cookbooks to an exploration of ethnic culinary influences, from fun collections of historic cookbooks and television commercials to “how to” food preparation videos, A to Z Food American has something to educate and entertain everyone.
A to Z World Business – Foundational knowledge needed to successfully conduct business in 100 different countries.
A to Z Maps Online – Access to approximately 145 000 maps.
A to Z World Food – Food culture and recipe database for 174 countries.
A to Z World Travel- Visit this site to access more than 200 world city travel guides, including latest-generation content, maps and photographs; plus world travel resources on a variety of topics.
Auto Repair Source – Powered by the automotive experts at MOTOR, AutoMate provides the most accurate, up-to-date service and repair information for all major manufacturers of domestic and imported cars, light trucks, vans and SUVs. Designed for touch-enabled devices such as laptops and tablets, AutoMate offers a user-friendly search experience and access to a wealth of information to help users diagnose, repair and maintain today’s complex vehicles.
Ancestry Library Edition – (In-Library Use Only) provides genealogical and historical research capabilities. With more than 5 billion names in over 4,600 databases, includes census, military, court, land, and probate records; vital and church records; directories; and passenger lists.
Covid-19 Ancestry At Home Use: Access to this resource has been temporarily expanded to library cardholders working remotely, courtesy of ProQuest and its partner Ancestry. Please contact us for instructions on how to access this resource through email at firstname.lastname@example.org. Once you have your access credentials, please click here
BC Laws – Free public access to the Statutes & Regulations of B.C.
BC Senior’s Guide – This Guide is a compilation of information and resources to help people plan for and live a healthy lifestyle as they age. It’s available for download as a PDF book in English, French, Chinese, Punjabi, Vietnamese, Korean or Farsi. It can also be read it online, or ordered in hard copy. Click here for access.
British Columbia Codes (In-Library Use Only) – Includes the current BC Building Code (including Plumbing Services) and the BC Fire Code.
British Columbia Statistics – Statistics on population, business, the economy, labour and society. From BCStats, the central statistical agency of the Province of British Columbia.
Access 2006 Census full (31 page) profiles or any item with a “key” icon beside it is available here. (Note: Remote access is permitted if your library can provide authentication.)
Business Plan Handbooks – A compilation of business plans developed by small businesses throughout North America. Access is made possible by the Small Business Accelerator at the Irving K. Barber Learning Centre at UBC with financial support from the Sutherland Foundation.
Canadian Encyclopedia – A comprehensive information source about Canada and Canadians, for students, the general public and scholars. Includes articles written by experts, as well as web links and multimedia clips. No library card is required to access these resources on the Internet.
Clicklaw – An Internet subject guide to authoritative legal resources in BC and Canada. Developed by the Legal Services Society of BC and now maintained by the BC Courthouse Library Society. No library card is required to access this resource on the Internet.
Explora Canada – Information for students of all ages on a wide variety of topics, from history and current events to science and technology. Search a variety of sources such as magazines, encyclopedias, primary source documents and more.
Explora Primary Schools – A research interface for K-5. Simple search that quickly delivers relevant results including articles, essays, and primary source documents to help students feel successful in their research. Easy-to-browse categories organized by popular topic to give students research ideas. Topic overviews that provide students with a starting point for research.
First Voices – FirstVoices is a suite of web-based tools and services designed to support Indigenous people engaged in language archiving, language teaching and culture revitalization. Use First Voices to learn Ktunaxa, the traditional language of the ʔakisq̓nuk and Secwepemc Peoples.
Gale Courses – Gale Courses offers a wide range of highly interactive, instructor led courses on a broad range of subjects that you can take entirely online. Covid-19 specific resources and e-books available.
Global Road Warrior- If you are planning a trip, or just wishing you were going somewhere, Global Road Warrior has the practical information you need for 175 countries. Whether you are going to Argentina or Togo, want to learn about greetings or need advice for female travellers, you can find it here along with a wealth of other information.
Khan Academy – “Learn almost anything for free.” 3300 videos explain many subjects.
KnowBC Online – Includes the following resources:
- Encyclopedia of British Columbia – With more than 4,000 entries and 1,500 accompanying photographs, maps, charts and tables, as well as sound and video clips.
- Marine Life of the Pacific Northwest – A Photographic Encyclopedia of Invertebrates, Seaweeds and Selected Fishes.
- The Encyclopedia of Raincoast Place Names – A Complete Reference to Coastal British Columbia
- Far West – The Story of British Columbia
- Raincoast Chronicles 20 – Lilies and Fireweed: Frontier Women of British Columbia.
- Where Mountains Meet the Sea – A History of Coastal BC
Language Learning Sites & Apps – Click for a list of free language learning website and apps from The ALS App, Duolingo, Memrise and more.
Libby – Ebooks, audiobooks & magazines. There are thousands of ebooks and audiobooks, hand-selected by your library, available for reading. Explore the collection through catalog guides, subjects, featured titles, and curated lists. It’s a delight to discover new books through Libby. Click the link or download the Libby app on your device. It’s free with your library card.
Library To Go – Download and listen to best selling and classic audio books 24/7 on your PC, laptop, PDA or MP3 player at home, in the office or anywhere in the world. It’s free, all you need is your library card.
Lingo Lite – Images, text and native speaker video to help you learn vocabulary up to four times faster than any other method.
LinkedIn Learning – LinkedIn Learning offers video courses taught by industry experts in software, creative, and business skills. It is a subsidiary of LinkedIn. All the courses on LinkedIn fall into 3 categories: Business, Creative, and Technology. Courses available for free with your library card. FAQs
NNELS – The National Network for Equitable Library Service (NNELS) is a repository of content owned and sustained by Canadian public libraries. They work with international partners, libraries, readers, and publishers (particularly Canadian ones) to make copies of books in accessible formats available to readers in Canada who have print disabilities.
NoveList [EBSCO] – Looking for a good novel? Want to find book reviews? Desperate to find other authors that are similar to your favourite? Check out NoveList, a database of fiction books and authors, recommended reading lists, book discussion ideas and book reviews for all ages. Video Tutorial [5 minutes]
Points to the Past – Searchable primary source material: maps, photos, newspapers, manuscripts, pamphlets, portraits, sermons, poems, and more. For research, teaching and learning.
Vehicle Safety and Inspection Standards Online (In-Library Use Only) Current vehicle safety and inspection standards and related BC legislation.
World Book Online– Encyclopedia database where information seekers of all ages can find the content they need at the correct reading level.
Zinio – Online magazines that you can download for free and read on your computer, tablet or smartphone.